Make your own free website on
  1. So Much To Say
  2. Two Step
  3. Crash Into Me
  4. Too Much
  5. #41
  6. Say Goodbye
  7. Drive In Drive Out
  8. Let You Down
  9. Lie in Our Graves
  10. Cry Freedom
  11. Tripping Billies
  12. Proudest Monkey


Dave Matthews Band: David Matthews (vocals, acoustic guitar); Boyd Tinsley (violin, electric violin); Leroi Moore (alto, soprano, tenor & baritone saxophones, flute, whistle); Stefan Lessard (bass, tac piano); Carter Beauford (drums, percussion, background vocals).

Additional personnel: Tim Reynolds (acoustic & electric guitars).

Recorded at Bearsville Studios, Bearsville, New York and Green Street Recording Studios, New York, New York.

"So Much To Say" won a 1997 Grammy Award for Best Rock Performance By A Duo Or Group With Vocal. CRASH was nominated for a 1997 Grammy for Best Rock Album, and "Too Much" was nominated for Best Rock Song. "Crash Into Me" was nominated for 1998 Grammys for Best Rock Performance By A Duo Or Group With Vocal and Best Rock Song.

What is it about The Dave Matthews Band that makes them so eclectic yet cohesive, so conventionally unconventional? The answer may lie in Matthews' rangy, distinctive voice and his capable acoustic-guitar work, which keeps the music centered as the band pulls from a myriad of musical styles. In fact, the music often seems to mimic his singing, following him from gruff and gravelly to pleading and sweet.

The players, clearly comfortable with each other, shift effortlessly through funk, rock, jazz and folk, much as on their 1994 breakthrough, UNDER THE TABLE AND DREAMING. Like that one, CRASH is rich and heavy with complex textures and rhythm, and accessible all the same.

Album Details:

  record label RCA Records
  orig. release 1996
  release date 04/30/1996
  engineer John Sicket
  mono/stereo Stereo
  studio/live Studio